Sarah, Oh Sarah 2008 Campaign

Sarah, Oh Sarah

-Bob Dylan 

 

I felt my harpoon, I looked at the sky,

When the children were babies and played on the ice.

You came up behind me, I saw you go by,

You were always so hot and steaming of vice.

 

Sarah, Sarah,

Whatever made you want to change your mind?

Sarah, Sarah,

So easy to look at, so hard to refine.

 

I can still see them playin’ with their guns in the lands,

They run to the cabin their pistols to fill.

I can still see the shells fallin’ out of their hands

As they follow each other back to the kill.

Sarah, Sarah,

Sweet virgin angel, sweet love of my life,

Sarah, Sarah,

Auroran jewel, Republican wife.

 

Sleepin’ in the woods by a fire in the night,

Drinkin’ Elkscnhaps in a Tenakee bar,

Them buildin’ snowmen and hearin’ about the Light,

Snuglin’ in a sleepin’ bag under a Shooting Star.

 

Sarah, Sarah,

It’s all so clear, I could never forget,

Sarah, Sarah,

Lovin’ you is the one thing I’ll never regret.

 

I can still hear the sounds of those End Timer bells,

I’d taken the cure and had just gotten through,

Stayin’ up for days in some Yukon Hotel,

Writin’ “Glad-Eyed Lady of the Snowlands” for you.

 

Sarah, Sarah,

Wherever we travel we’re never apart.

Sarah, oh Sarah,

Beautiful lady, so dear to my heart.

 

How did I meet you? I don’t know.

A messenger sent me a deep revelation.

You were there in the winter, moonlight on the snow

And on Lamestream media a great sensation.

 

Sarah, oh Sarah,

Aquarian Sphinx in an Eskimo dress,

Sarah, Sarah,

He must forgive us our unworthiness.

 

Now the shore is deserted except for some crude

And a piece of a dead bird that floats by the shore.

You always responded, you weren’t so prude,

You gimme a map and the key to your door.

 

Sarah, oh Sarah,

Borealis nymph with an UZI in tow,

Sarah, oh Sarah,

Don’t ever leave me, please just go.

 

Note:  This early draft (never before published) of Sara was discovered 

by garbologist AJ Weberman in the 1970’s.  

These events involving Dylan and Sarah took place in the eighties. 

Must have been during Bob’s Christian time.  

Remarkably prescient, Dylan’s life and

music transcend time, space and whatever else there is.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

